Chick Can’t be a Veterinarian

Reflecting on the past is important in order to know where I’m going in the future. There’s two ways to look at this. For one, I’ve made a lot…a dozen or possibly a million mistakes and I believe I’ve learned a lesson or two from those ugly incidents. Frankly, that’s why I am who I am. It’s why I think too much now.

Let’s take my job search, for instance. It’s been difficult after being laid off of the same job twice. (By the way, I don’t think many people can say this…or would admit returning to a job which laid them off even one time…but I digress.)

Because of our rural domain, I decided to interview for a local veterinarian’s office. I mean, I love animals. Sure, my college degree is Interior Design, but I was open to new possibilities! After the interview, they offered me a position which sounded perfect. It was close to home. I would work with humans and the dogs alongside the vet. How hard could this be?

I’m shaking hands. I’m excited! “Oh and you’ll want to come in at the end of this week. On Friday’s we put some of the shelter dogs ‘down’. We’ll just need you to cuddle and comfort them.”

Silence.

I couldn’t hear another word.

“See you on Friday. Don’t worry. You’ll get used to it.”

Returning home, my face was swollen and puffy. I cried for hours before my husband got home. I washed up…put on a happy face and reported with tears the size of alligators that “I got the job!”

Hubby called me repeatedly for the following two days to say,”Call them back…you’re not taking that job. We don’t have a kennel. I know you. We’ll end up becoming a shelter for everyone of those animals on Fridays!”

I continued to cry for two days as I tried to convince myself with their words “you’ll get used to it.”

He was right. I wouldn’t get used to it. I don’t work there and we are currently are the house of 4 dogs and 17 chickens.

Can you imagine if I’d taken that job? I had to examine my past and my present to determine my future.

What’s next, you ask? Stay tuned.

5 comments

  1. Summet I am using getting a good chuckle at your expense over your posts. However no chuckle from this one. This “Chick Can Do” made my heart ache for you but just reirrated how big of a heart and love you have for our precious fur babies. I’m thankful you declined on the job offer. You would have been an asset to their office but I am with you on your thoughts. No one should have to get “used to it” as they replied to putting precious lives down. Nope I don’ think that was for you. I will continue to pray that a favorable job opportunity will come. I love you girl.

    1. Boy I should proofread Summer not Summet! She’s another friend! Plus I meant “used to getting a good chuckle”. I’m using my phone and could use some readers!

      1. Trusting God about this Cindy! God has plans for me. I truly believe that. In the meantime, I put myself out there. I can’t just wait for things to happen. I’ve got to keep moving! Right?
        Thank you Cindy!

Leave a Reply

